Department of Chemistry

The Anton B. Burg Memorial Lecture
commemorating his 100th birthday
October 20, 2004

The Department of Chemistry at the University of Southern California invites you to the Inaugural Anton B. Burg Memorial Lecture commemorating his 100th birthday  

M. Frederick Hawthorne
University Professor
University of California, Los Angeles

The evolution of borane chemistry. from green flames to nanoscience

Wednesday, October 20, 2004
Seeley G. Mudd Building, Room 123
Reception: 3:30 p.m.
Lecture: 4:00 p.m.

Anton B. Burg was born on October 18, 1904, in Dallas City, Illinois.  He was educated at the University of Chicago (B.S., 1927, Ph.D., 1931) and was an instructor there from 1931 to 1939, during which time he carried out pioneering research in boron hydride chemistry.  In 1939, he joined the faculty of the USC Department of Chemistry.  From 1940-1950 he was the Chairman of the Department of Chemistry and began the post-war expansion of the Department.  Burg was an internationally renowned inorganic chemist and was the author of 174 research publications, predominantly in the field of main-group inorganic chemistry.  In 1969 he received the prestigious American Chemical Society Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry.  He became a Distinguished Emeritus Professor at USC in 1980.  He died on November 18, 2003.



M. Frederick Hawthorne, Professor of Chemistry at UCLA, is a University Professor, the most distinguished title bestowed upon faculty by the Regents of the University of California.  Hawthorne joins nineteen colleagues sharing this title University-wide. After receiving his Ph.D. from UCLA in 1953 and a stint as a postdoctoral associate at Iowa State University, Hawthorne launched his career in borane cluster chemistry by organizing and leading the Organometallic Chemistry Group at Rohm and Haas, Redstone Arsenal Research Division, Huntsville, Alabama in 1956.  He is the author or co-author of more than 500 research papers, 33 patents and 9 book chapters. Professor Hawthorne is also a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and is the recipient of many prestigious awards.


© 2020 Department of Chemistry , USC