Apply for free! Fall 2020 Application
 Department of Chemistry

Matthew Pratt to Receive Phi Kappa Phi Faculty Recognition Award
Professor Matthew Pratt will receive a USC 2020 Phi Kappa Phi Faculty Recognition Award in April for a collection of research works showing that the protein modification called O-GlcNAc is a multifaceted inhibitor of amyloid formation. This toxic form of protein aggregation is present in many neurodegenerative diseases. The award honors research of the highest caliber and is conferred annually at the Academic Honors Convocation.

Mark Thompson Elected Member of National Academy of Engineering
In one of the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer, professor of chemistry Mark Thompson has been elected as a member of the National Academy of Engineering. The Academy honor recognizes his “development of highly efficient electrophosphorescent materials for organic light emitting devices used in displays and lighting worldwide.”
view full story

Graduate Student Pursues Chemistry to Clean Up Pollution and Change the World
The polluted river that separates his family is the same river that inspired Juan Pablo de los Rios to pursue a career in science as an avenue to improve our world.
view full story

View all news
Seminar / Events

04/06/2020: Physical-Theoretical
** CANCELLED ** Professor Hua Guo
Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, University of New Mexico
12:00 p.m., SSL 202

04/07/2020: Inorganic
** CANCELLED ** Professor Natalia Shustova
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of South Carolina
12:30 p.m., SSL 202

04/08/2020: Organic-Materials
** CANCELLED ** Professor Justin J. Wilson
Department of Chemistry, Cornell University
12:00 p.m., Olah Library

  Subscribe to the seminar calendar. | view all Events


© 2020 Department of Chemistry , USC   


The Department of Chemistry is committed to excellence in all aspects of research, teaching, and learning. An integral part of that commitment is the active promotion of equity, fairness, respect and inclusion for all members of our community regardless of gender, race, ethnicity, sexual orientation or disability.